Buckle Up, Collier County.
Florida drivers can now get pulled over and ticketed for failing to buckle up – as a primary offense, under the state’s modified seat belt law, which took effect June 30. Until now, police in Florida can only issue a ticket for not wearing a seatbelt if they have stopped the driver for another violation..
Adults caught not being buckled up in the front seat face a $98 fine in Collier.Anyone younger than 18 must wear a seat belt no matter where in the vehicle they are sitting.
The proper use of a safety belt is the single most important action a person can take to increase the chances of surviving a vehicle crash.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration estimates 142 lives will be saved by Florida’s enhanced seat belt law every year.
Collier County has the highest safety belt compliance rate – 92 percent – in the state, according to the Florida Department of Transportation.
Watch a CCSO seat belt safety video: