Collier County Sheriff’s Office deputies issued 562 citations during the two-week “Click It or Ticket” campaign.
Cpl. Chris Thomas of the agency’s Safety and Traffic Enforcement Bureau was the top producer, issuing 90 citations during the campaign, which ran from March 1 through March 15.
The purpose of the special enforcement effort was to increase safety belt use and to reduce fatalities on the roads in Collier County.
The fine for not wearing a seat belt is $113 in Collier County. The fine for a child restraint violation is $163.
Collier County continues to have the highest safety belt compliance rate – 92 percent – in Florida, according to the state Department of Transportation.
Deputies conducted various countywide heightened enforcement details during the campaign to draw attention to the importance of safety belt use.
In 2009, 22 people killed in traffic crashes in Collier County weren’t wearing their seat belts.
CCSO reminds motorists that drivers in Collier County can be pulled over by deputies for not buckling up. In May 2009 Florida became the 28th state to have primary offense safety belt laws. Previously, drivers could only be ticketed for not wearing a seat belt if they were pulled over for another offense, such as speeding. The recent law allows deputies to stop drivers who aren’t wearing their seat belt.