Monday, May 14, 2012

Candlelight Vigil To Honor Fallen Officers May 15

WHAT: Memorial service honoring fallen officers

WHEN: Tuesday, May 15

TIME: 7:30 p.m.

LOCATION: Memorial Wall in front of Collier County Sheriff’s Office headquarters, Building J, 3319 U.S. 41 E., East Naples

SUMMARY: A memorial service and candlelight vigil will take place at the Collier County Sheriff’s Office to honor local law enforcement officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice.

All fallen law enforcement officers from Collier County will be honored by the county’s three law enforcement agencies during the nighttime vigil. The public is invited to attend.

Collier County Sheriff Kevin Rambosk will deliver the welcome as well as the memorial address and closing remarks. Sheriff Rambosk will be joined by Naples Police Chief Tom Weschler and Marco Island Police Chief Don Hunter in the lighting of the vigil candles.

While the Harp and Thistle Pipe Band performs “Amazing Grace,” family members of fallen officers will be invited to light a candle and place flowers on the table in honor of their loved one.

Maj. Ruben Gonzalez of Barron Collier High School’s Junior ROTC program is the scheduled guest speaker.

Cpl. Sylee Gibson will sing “The Star- Spangled Banner” and Jamie Dandridge of Restoration Church will perform a musical tribute.

The service will also feature the presentation of colors by the CCSO Honor Guard, a flyover by the CCSO Aviation Bureau and a last radio call by the CCSO Communications Bureau.

The service is one of many commemorative events taking place throughout the country during National Police Week 2012.

Communities across the U.S. will come together May 13-19 to honor and remember those law enforcement officers who made the ultimate sacrifice, as well as the family members, friends and fellow officers they left behind.

This year, the names of 362 officers killed in the line of duty are being added to the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial in Washington, D.C. These 362 officers include 162 officers who were killed during 2011, plus 199 officers who died in previous years but whose stories of sacrifice had been lost to history until now

The national observance is organized by a group of organizations led by the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund (NLEOMF), Concerns of Police Survivors, the Fraternal Order of Police and the Fraternal Order of Police Auxiliary.

The following CCSO members will never be forgotten:

In Memoriam:

Deputy W.B. Richardson

Deputy William Irwin

Deputy William E. Hutto

Deputy Maurice Eugene Anglin

Investigator Arthur Allen Amos

Cpl. Amedicus “Med’ Quincy Howell III

Cpl. Mark Caperton

Sgt. Roy Arthur Williams

Sgt. Joe Nathan Jones

Deputy Raul “Rudy” Dimas Sr.

Click here to read the public invitation.