Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Florida's First Lady Visits Collier D.A.R.E. Class

A group of D.A.R.E. students at Osceola Elementary School got to meet Florida First Lady Ann Scott on Tuesday when she visited their classroom.
Mrs. Scott was greeted by Collier County Sheriff Kevin J. Rambosk, CCSO Youth Relations Bureau Commander Beth Jones, Collier County Public Schools Assistant Superintendent David Stump, Osceola Elementary School Principal Jody Moorhead, and representatives of the state and national D.A.R.E. organizations.

Following a tour of the school she observed as Collier County Sheriff’s Office Cpl. Ken Vila taught the fifth-grade students in teacher Jason Siciliano’s class about making solid decisions. Several students read their D.A.R.E. essays to their classmates and Mrs. Scott.

“D.A.R.E. gives you great tools to make wise decisions in life,” Mrs. Scott told the students.

D.A.R.E., or Drug Abuse Resistance and Education, is an education program that gives children the skills they need to avoid involvement in drugs, tobacco use, over-the-counter and prescription drugs, bullying, gangs, cyber-bullying, violence, and other negative activities.

Sheriff Rambosk serves on the prestigious D.A.R.E. America International Law Enforcement Advisory Board, where he helps shape the future of the D.A.R.E. program.

“D.A.R.E. is a terrific program and I’m glad we had the opportunity to share our enthusiasm for it with Mrs. Scott,” he said. “The lessons that students learn in D.A.R.E. help them grow up to be productive members of our community.”

CCSO deputies teach the D.A.R.E. curriculum in 32 public and private elementary schools, reaching more than 3,200 fifth-grade students each year. Worldwide, D.A.R.E. reaches 26 million children in all 50 states and 43 other countries.

CCSO was recently honored with two major D.A.R.E. awards.

Sheriff Rambosk received the Florida D.A.R.E. Officers Association’s 2011 Leadership Award for his outstanding dedication to kids and teens. Youth Relations Bureau Cpl. Wayne Brooks was named the 2011 Florida D.A.R.E. Officer of the Year for his outstanding contributions to the D.A.R.E. program.